Ridge Volunteer Fire Department

St. Marys County Fire/EMS Scanner Feed

Upcoming Events

There are currently no events
View All Events

2019 Incidents
Jan 17
Feb 9
Total 26

2018 Incidents
Jan 18
Feb 8
Mar 22
Apr 20
May 15
Jun 30
Jul 28
Aug 26
Sept 22
Oct 33
Nov 16
Dec 23
Total 261

2017 Incidents
Jan 17
Feb 12
Mar 12
Apr 24
May 15
Jun 16
Jul 28
Aug 34
Sept 18
Oct 19
Nov 19
Dec 22
Total 236

Web Counters
Website Visitors
January 1, 2016
Visitors Today
Feb 17, 2019
70th Annual Installation of Officers
Email Email Print Print RSS RSS Facebook Google+ Twitter

By Assistant Fire Chief Eddie Raley
January 27, 2018

On January 27, 2018 the 70th Annual Installation of Officers Banquet was held at the Ridge Volunteer Fire Department Fire Hall. To start off the evening, the administrative, operational and auxiliary officers were sworn in by SMVFA Representatives Dale Bowen and Chrissy King.

2018 Administrative Officers:

President – Charlie Bradburn
Vice President – Ron Hafner
Secretary – Lori Raley
Assistant Secretary – Eddie Raley
Treasurer – Johnny Wathen
Fire Chief – Ray Mercure

Board of Directors-

Ray Mercure
Charlie Bradburn
Robbie Wood
Francis Raley
Dickie Wood
Ron Hafner
Johnny Wathen
Lori Raley
Bruce Raley
Robert Simmons
George Franklin

2018 Line Officers:

Fire Chief – Ray Mercure
Assistant Chief – Eddie Raley
Deputy Chief – Darius Hawkins
Captain – Charlie Langley
Captain – Danny Gatton
Lieutenant – Robert Simmons
Lieutenant - Joe W. Raley
Lieutenant – Jordan Andrews
Lieutenant - Brent Jackson
Safety Officer – Phil Cooper
Safety Officer – Francis Raley
Safety Officer - Tom Trossbach
Chief Engineer – Peanut Gatton
Honorary Chaplain – Msgr. Carl Chimiak
Engineer – Bradley Cooper
Engineer – John Morrison
Engineer – Heavy Ridgell
Engineer – Ron Hafner
Engineer – Keith Raley
Engineer – Tony Ridgell
Engineer – Robbie Wood
Engineer – Charlie Bradburn
Engineer - John Keister
Engineer - Brian Cooper

2018 Auxiliary Officers

President – Dawn Gatton
Vice President – Debbie Fairfax
Recording Secretary – Darlene Wood
Corresponding Secretary - Aggie Owens
Treasurer – Margie Cooper

After the swearing in, dinner prepared by Rita B's Catering was served. Following dinner, Past Chief, Joe Cooper led us into a memorial ceremony to honor the deceased members of the department. The 2017 deceased members were added to the memorial located in front of our station. Family members were escorted to place flowers in remembrance.

The awards program followed, under the helm of Master of Ceremonies, Former St. Mary's County Commissioner Dan Raley.

Congratulations to the following award recipients:

President's Award – Ron Hafner

Chief's Award – Eddie Raley

Fireman of the year – Tyler Mercure

Rookie of the year – Brandon Merritt

Chief Engineer's Award – Heavy Ridgell

Joe Titus Fire Prevention Award – Joe Cooper

Auxiliary Member of the year – Dawn Gatton

Auxiliary Outstanding Service Award - Emerick Norris

Auxiliary President Dawn Gatton presented the department with a check totaling $25,000 to be used for bathroom lighting fixtures and tools for the new Engine 41.

2017 Top 10 Emergency Responders:

1. Danny Gatton 152 calls
2. Keith Raley 151 Calls
3. Ray Mercure 148 Calls
4. Kevin Lorence 142 Calls
5. Francis Raley 134 Calls
6. Tyler Mercure 124 Calls
7. Lori Raley and Ron Hafner 113 Calls
8. Brandon Merritt 111 Calls
9. Bruce Raley 109 Calls
10. Jannet Keister 104 Calls

Length of Service Awards:

5 Years – Alex Ketner and JC Trossbach

10 Years – Jordan Andrews, Alex Pulliam, Paul Tennyson and Mike Combs

15 Years - Robert Simmons

20 Years - Bradley Cooper and Steve Bradburn

25 Years (Life Member) - Ron Hafner

35 Years - Howard Fenhagen, Bruce Raley and Mike Ridgell

40 Years - Peanut Gatton and Bobby Balta

45 Years – Keith Raley

50 Years – George Gatton and Emerick Norris

65 Years - James Raley

Auxiliary Years of Service

10 Years - Ashley Andrews and Bonnie Ridgell

20 Years - Aggie Owens

Carnival Chairman Mike Ridgell presented several years of service awards to citizens of the community for their years of commitment to the Ridge Carnival.

A dance followed with music by DJ Wesley "Wild Wes" Briscoe.

The Officers and members of the Ridge VFD also would like to thank the members of Bay District VFD and NDWFD Webster Field for covering our area during the installation.

Also, a special thanks to Mary Franklin for the pictures.

2018 Administrative Officers
2018 Administrative Officers
2018 Board of Directors
2018 Board of Directors
2018 Line Officers
2018 Line Officers
2018 Engineers
2018 Engineers
2018 Auxiliary Officers
2018 Auxiliary Officers
Installing Admin Officers
Installing Admin Officers
Installing Engineers
Installing Engineers
Installing Line Officers
Installing Line Officers
Installing Auxiliary Officers
Installing Auxiliary Officers
Length of Service Cake
Length of Service Cake
Life Member Presented to Ron Hafner
Life Member Presented to Ron Hafner
DJ "Wild Wes" Briscoe
DJ "Wild Wes" Briscoe

Comment Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Ridge Volunteer Fire Department, Inc.
13820 Point Lookout Road
P.O. Box 520
Ridge, MD 20680
Emergency Dial 911
Non-Emergency: 301-872-5571
E-mail: info@ridgevfd.org
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)